The majority of your sources will likely be scholarly journal articles found in databases.
Additional Tips for Citing Scholarly Articles:
| |
MLA Style |
APA Style |
| Authors |
- On the works cited page, list the author's last name first, then the full first name.
- Use "and" for two authors.
- If there are 3+ authors, use only the first author's name followed by et al.
|
- List every author's name (up to 20 authors) in the reference page citation.
- List author names with last names first, followed by their initials.
- Use commas to separate the author names and use an ampersand before the final author's name.
|
| Format |
- The title of the article should be in quotation marks and capitalized in typical title style
- The title of the journal should be in italics
- If found in a database, the database should be included in italics
|
- The title of an article should be in sentence casing (only the first words of the title or subtitle and proper nouns are capitalized).
- Scientific names used in an article title should be written in italics with the genus capitalized.
- The title of the journal and the volume number should be in italics
|
| DOI/URL |
- If there is a DOI it is preferred over a URL
- If there is no DOI, use a URL without the https://
- If the article was found in a database, include the database name.
|
- If a DOI is available, include it
- If there is no DOI available, and the article is from a website, include the URL.
- If there is no DOI and the article was from a database, do not include a URL or any database information.
|
| No Date |
- If there is no creation date available DO NOT use n.d., just omit the creation date portion.
|
- If the date of publication is not listed, use the abbreviation (n.d.).
|
For more detailed citation help on a wider range of sources visit our citation Libguide, check a citation manual, or go to Purdue Online Writing Lab:
Citing & Sources LibguideLinks to an external site.
APA Publication Manual
MLA handbook 9th Edition
Concise APA Handbook (eBook)
Links to an external site.
APA Citation Guide
MLA Citation Guide
We are happy to help you with citations! Contact a librarian if you have questions.