The history and application of police psychology -- The police personality -- Police trauma, critical incidents, and stressors -- Critical incident stress management/psychological services -- Hostage negotiation -- Interview and interrogation -- The psychology of threat assessment -- The psychology of profiling
Updated to reflect recent changes in the field, the 2nd Edition of Forensic Psychology presents a comprehensive overview of forensic psychology and its applications in the civil and criminal justice systems of the UK. Builds on the first edition to convey material in an engaging manner to postgraduate students in psychology Includes a significant expansion of pedagogical features, including text boxes highlighting key seminar issues and key debates in the field to further group discussion Provides an up-to-date summary of emerging evidence in the field, and its implications for evidence based practice Points to additional online learning resources at the conclusion of each chapter
A revised new edition of one of the top references for forensic psychologists This top professional and academic reference in forensic psychology is an established presence as both a professional reference and graduate text. This Fourth Edition is completely revised and updated for the new and rapidly growing demands of the field to reflect the new tools available to, and functions required of, present-day practitioners.
Communication in Forensic Contexts provides in-depth coverage of the complex area of communication in forensic situations. Drawing on expertise from forensic psychology, linguistics and law enforcement worldwide, the text bridges the gap between these fields in a definitive guide to best practice. Offers best practice for understanding and improving communication in forensic contexts, including interviewing of victims, witnesses and suspects, discourse in courtrooms, and discourse via interpreters Bridges the knowledge gaps between forensic psychology, forensic linguistics and law enforcement, with chapters written by teams bringing together expertise from each field
The first comprehensive examination of the increasingly important role of forensic psychologists in consulting and expert witness testimony in child custody litigation, this book offers practical advice on understanding the critical psychological dynamics often found in child custody cases as well as guidance in using your own forensic consultant and testifying expert in complex litigation.
Expertise in Court: Perspectives on Testimony is the second of a two-volume set on the Psychology of the Courtroom. The authors, a renowned group of psychology and legal scholars, offer definitive coverage of the use of psychological expert testimony and evidence in a variety of legal contexts.
A guide to working effectively with children in the criminal justice system Uniquely designed to train psychology, criminology, and social work students to work with children in the criminal justice system--both in the courtroom and as clinical clients--Forensic Child Psychology presents current research and practice-based knowledge to improve the judicial and child welfare systems.
The book offers an overview of how to work with some of the most damaged members of society - children and adults with intellectual disabilities who abuse others. Drawing on insight from two decades of clinical work, the author examines how to assess risk and danger in the forensic disability patient, ways of working therapeutically with patients at all ends of the disability spectrum, and how to support members of the patient's network. Combining psychoanalytic, creative, forensic and systemic thinking, the book provides a template for assessing, managing, containing and treating those who present with multiple diagnoses, including cognitive and physical disabilities, mutism, psychiatric disorders and autism.
Assessments in Forensic Practice: A Handbook provides practical guidance in the assessment of the most frequently encountered offender subgroups found within the criminal justice system. Topics include: criminal justice assessments offenders with mental disorders family violence policy and practice