This volume brings together resources from the networks and communities that contribute to biochemistry education. Projects, authors, and practitioners from the American Chemical Society (ACS), American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB), and the Society for the Advancement of Biology Education Research (SABER) are included to facilitate cross-talk among these communities. Authors offer diverse perspectives on pedagogy, and chapters focus on topics such as the development of visual literacy, pedagogies and practices, and implementation.
Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone.
Biochemistry in the Lab: A Manual for Undergraduates presents a comprehensive approach to modern biochemistry laboratory teaching together with a complete experimental experience, from molecular biology, cloning, and protein expression to purification and characterization.
More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills.
An introduction to biotechnology, providing information on the fundamentals of molecular and cellular biology; medical advances in cancer, infectious diseases, immunology, and genetics; experimental techniques; the Human Genome Project; cloning; and other related topics. Includes chapter quizzes, final exam, and answer keys.
These books provide a range of opinions on a social issue; each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives, e.g., eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper accounts, to illuminate the issue.
Global Viewpoints: Genetically Modified Food explores the following issues related to genetically modified food: attitudes toward genetically modified food around the world, the impact of genetically modified crops on agriculture, the impact of geneticall; This series provides readers with the information they need to think critically about the worldwide implications of global issues; each volume focuses on a controversial topic of worldwide importance and offers a panoramic view of opinions.
This text presents an accessible introduction to the essentials of forensic biology for undergraduate students. It provides information on a range of biological organisms - animals, plants, and microbes used in forensic studies.
Forensics Demystified offers an effective, enlightening, and entertaining way to learn this intriguing science." "First, you'll get an introduction to the various aspects of forensic science as well as some details on its beginnings. Next, you'll learn about crime scene investigation, forensic pathology, and DNA.
This book analyzes the impacts of current and possible future GM crop applications and shows that these technologies can contribute substantially to sustainable agricultural development and food security.
With hundreds of full-color illustrations and step-by-step methods for procedures, this text provides a solid, basic understanding of diagnostic microbiology and also covers more advanced techniques such as matrix-assisted laser desorption time-of-flight mass spectrometry.
This book is suited for all kinds of students and doesn't require any prerequisite knowledge of biology or chemistry. If you are interested in entering the health care profession in some way, this book will give you a strong background in the biology of microorganisms, without overwhelming you with unnecessary details.
The text has a concise and readable style, covers the most current concepts, and gives students the knowledge and mastery necessary to understand advances of the future. A body systems approach is used in the coverage of diseases.
Women in Microbiology, we meet women who, despite these obstacles and against tough odds, have become scientific leaders and revered mentors. The women profiled in this collection range from historic figures like Alice Catherine Evans and Ruth Ella Moore to modern heroes like Michele Swanson and Katrina Forest.