Psychology

The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings.

This five-volume encyclopedia covers the history of psychology as an experimental and social science, as an applied health discipline, as a profession, and as a locus for the panoply of preeminent contributors in the field.

Provides a comprehensive five-volume set that covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format.

Having covered these essential principles, he describes how the science of behavior analysis can be effectively applied to real life behavior problems. He looks at how behavior is assessed and various intervention techniques that are often employed with children who have autism and other special needs.

The impact of combat on service members' mental health has received considerable attention both in the popular press and in scholarly publications. Yet few books have focused on systematic, evidence-based attempts at preventing mental health problems and enhancing service members' well-being and resilience.

A collection of essays by many of the world's leading developmental psychologists in which they focus on issues and questions guiding research in their own particular areas of speciality.

The text offers a solid research orientation and comprehensive coverage of all aspects of developmental psychology. Drs. Hoffman and Paris--renowned scholars in the field--have included the most important new information available and have struck a winning balance between psychological theory and "real life" applications.

Developmental Psychology shows how we change as we gradually move from infancy into childhood and, ultimately, through adulthood and old age. The processes of development are affected both by the environment and by our genetic makeup in complex and interesting ways.

Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions.

The text provides solid, up-to-date coverage of the foundational areas within educational psychology: learning, development, motivation, teaching, and assessment, combined with intelligent examination of emerging trends in the field and society that affect student learning, such as student diversity, inclusion of students with special learning needs, technology, education and neuroscience, and No Child Left Behind.

The content has been updated to reflect the most current research and trends in the field and in K-12 classrooms, yet care has been taken to preserve the essential applied nature of this text.

The first book of its kind, Essentials of Educational Psychology focuses squarely on the core concepts, principles, and underlying assumptions of the field of educational psychology—the big ideas of ed psych.

Gives examples of how forensic psychology can benefit not only from clinical and criminological approaches, but also from the insights of occupational, cognitive, developmental and social psychology. Illustrates the wide variety of applications of psychology to the criminal and civil justice system.

The chapters address substantive topics such as acquisitive crime, domestic violence, mass murder, and sexual violence, while also exploring emerging areas of research such as the expansion of cybercrime, particularly child sexual exploitation, as well as aspects of terrorism and radicalization.

Forensic Psychology: Crime, Justice, Law, Interventions, Third Edition covers every aspect of forensic psychology--from understanding criminal behavior, to applying psychological theory to criminal investigation, analyzing the legal process and the treatment of witnesses and offenders.

Established topics including police psychology, the psychology of crime and delinquency, victimology and victim services, and correctional psychology are also considered in this invaluable guide.

Thoroughly grounded in current research and covers all of the basic concepts in psychology such as: the science of psychology, the biological basis of behavior, sensation and perception, states of consciousness, learning, memory, cognition and mental abilities, motivation and emotion, life-span development, personality, stress and health psychology, psychological disorders, therapies and social psychology.

A perfect introduction for students and laypeople alike, A Degree in a Book: Psychology provides you with all the concepts you need to understand the fundamental issues.

Psychology 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research.

Devoting the majority of the discussion to theory, he discusses the psychological ideas of psychoanalysis, radical behaviorism, and humanistic phenomenology after brief biographies of their originators.

Psychologist William Glasser, author of Reality Therapy, calls for a complete overhaul of traditional psychology based on the goal of strengthening relationships by appealing to each individual's basic needs for love, power, freedom, and pleasure.

Supplies a comprehensive treatise on the value of family psychology to the field of psychology as a whole Provides a historical overview of family psychology and makes the important differentiation between family psychology and marriage and family therapy.

This textbook provides an integrated and organized foundation for students seeking a brief but comprehensive introduction to the field of relationship science.

By reviewing current psychological research on how to build and maintain friendships and then integrating this material with a rich array of skill-building exercises, the text provides a thorough and appealing approach to learning about interpersonal skills.

This collection of first-person accounts from legendary social psychologists tells the stories behind the science and offers unique insight into the development of the field from the 1950s to the present.

For an undergraduate introductory level course in social psychology. Research made relevant through a storytelling approach. This renowned text maintains its acclaimed storytelling approach to convey the science of social psychology while making research relevant to students.

Illustrates how psychologists have produced a startling array of knowledge about how people act and react in social situations. Social behaviours are affected by thought and emotion, by our cultural heritage, by the groups with which we affiliate, and by our expectations of what is likely to happen when we deal with others.

Covered are such topics as the complex interaction of individual, societal, and situational factors underpinning good or evil behavior; the role of guilt and the self-concept; and issues of responsibility and motivation, including why good people do bad things.