Stanly Community College Library: English 242 British Literature: Books

British Literature Books (Selected)

Elizabeth Barrett Browning
The poems selected here include early verse published in 1826, when the poet was twenty, as well as the last poems she wrote before her death in 1861.
Great Expectations
The orphaned Pip is serving as a blacksmith's apprentice when an unknown benefactor supplies the means for him to be educated in London as a gentleman of "great expectations."
Tennyson: Selected Poetry
Represents Tennyson's work in many poetic forms over more than sixty years. The collection includes a substantial introduction, explanatory notes and bibliographical information.
Villette
First published in 1853, Villette is Bronte's most accomplished and deeply felt work, eclipsing even Jane Eyre in critical acclaim. Her narrator, the autobiographical Lucy Snowe, flees England and a tragic past to become an instructor in a French boarding school in the town of Villette.

George Bernard Shaw's Plays
"Contexts and Criticism" features all-new material on the author and his work, from traditional critical readings to more theorized approaches, among them essays on Shaw's Fabianism and his alleged feminism.
H. G. Wells: the Complete Short Story Collection
H.G. Wells: The Complete Short Story Collection. This selection is comprised of 49 classic short stories from the father of the Science Fiction genre author H.G. Wells.
Typhoon and Other Stories
The tale of the old steamer Nan-Han and its ageless Captain MacWhirr who are caught in a typhoon in the South China Sea.
The Yeats Reader
Presents a compilation of the Irish writer's poetry, drama, prose fiction, autobiographical pieces, essays, and criticism.

Anthology of Twentieth-Century British and Irish Poetry
Presenting a wide-ranging selection of vital twentieth-century work, Anthology of Twentieth-Century British and Irish Poetry contains over 450 poems by 126 poets, beginning with Thomas Hardy and Gerard Manley Hopkins and ending with Catherine Walsh and Helen Macdonald.
Poetry at Present
Introduction to the works of certain contemporary poets, for those readers who do not know them, while not being, it is hoped, entirely without interest for those who do.
Rupert Brooke and Wilfred Owen
Two of Britain's most celebrated war poems, Brooke and Owen, died tragically.
Salt-Water Poems and Ballads
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact and remains as true to the original work as possible.

British Women Fiction Writers, 1900-1960
Covers 200 of the most important women writers of English.
The Collected Poems of W. B. Yeats
The Collected Poems of W. B. Yeats includes all of the poems authorized by Yeats for inclusion in his standard canon.
James Joyce
This new critical account by a well-known writer on Joyce's work is designed as a basic introduction for students at all levels.
Virginia Woolf
These brilliant pieces of short fiction incapsulate classic 20th century modernism.

Catch-22
One of the funniest books ever written, Joseph Heller's masterpiece about a bomber squadron in the Second World War's Italian theater features a gallery of magnificently strange characters seething with comic energy.
A Clockwork Orange
Told through a central character, Alex, the disturbing novel creates an alarming futuristic vision of violence, high technology, and authoritarianism.
Mantissa
A deeply serious novelist is subjected to ultimately tragic sufferings by his shamelessly uncooperative muse, who is given to distractions, sulks, and unexpected lapses in memory and who demands equal play for equal work
Samuel Beckett
A towering figure in world literature, his accomplishments in these genres have inspired scores of books and hundreds of articles devoted to interpreting, appreciating, and explicating his novels, poems, and plays.