English 241 British Literature

From the Roman occupation to the coronation of Henry II, a thousand years of English history are recorded in the Anglo-Saxon chronicles. Translated into modern prose by Anne Savage, and accompanied by informative commentary, the voices of old speak from the pages of this accessible book, providing an insight into life as it really was in England during this period.

A collection of critical essays on the epic poem, arranged chronologically in the order of their original publication. Contains six critical essays on the most important poem in Old English.

This is poetry as stunning in its vitality as it is true to its sources. Were Williamson's idiom not so modern, we might think that the Anglo-Saxon poets had taken up the lyre again and begun to sing once more.

This collection of essays examines the motifs of darkness, depression, and descent in both literal and figurative manifestations within a variety of Anglo-Saxon texts, including the Old English Consolation of Philosophy, Beowulf, Guthlac, The Junius Manuscript, The Wonders of the East, and The Battle of Maldon.

Volume I contains all his translations from classical poetry, comparing the English verse with the Latin and Greek originals. The editor discusses Marlowe's skill as a translator and his art as a poet and provides clear explanations of all difficult expressions and obscure allusions.

A collection of some of the finest verse ever written in the English language--all released to coincide with the 400th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth I's death. The Elizabethan sonneteers created haunting and magnificent poetry, as beautifully crafted as they are intensely personal.

Shakespeare's popular comedy of love and mistaken identity is accompanied by a section on reading Shakespeare's language, information on Shakespeare's life and theater, explanatory notes, annotated reading lists, and an essay.

This collection of poems by the Elizabethan courtier and explorer Walter Raleigh also features poems by other members of Elizabeth I's court.

ach title includes a themed introduction by leading authorities on the subject, life-and-times chronology of the author, text summaries, annotated reading lists and selected criticism and notes.

Clarifies the complexities of Milton's poem and highlights its relevance to our own time.

As the sole survivor of a shipwreck, an Englishman lives for nearly thirty years on a deserted island.

It presents Swift's work in its historical and literary context, and explores its allusions, its four-part structure, its narrative strategy and its prose style. A final chapter sketches the fictional aftermath of the Travels from the eighteenth to the twentieth century, and there is a guide to further reading.

This volume offers a comprehensive selection of contemporary criticism of three great Romantic poets, ranging from traditional literary scholarship through historicist, feminist, structuralist and poststructuralist readings.

The last volume in The Oxford English Text's Byron Series, this crictical study discusses Byron's poetry of the last two years of his life, 1823 and 1824, and supplies individual indexes of his poems by volume and page number, titles, and first lines. The book also includes a general index to the work as a whole.

All the poems Jane Austen wrote, and many of those she read and valued, and which play a part in her novels.

For nearly two hundred years, scholars and critics have deepened our understanding of these and other poems, and this edition brings together the very best of these works.